Party for “Raid!”

 

IMG_2939

Last Friday night, my host brothers Joao and Paulo threw a house-warming party for me. The funniest thing is the way they spelled my name. Instead of Heidi they spelled it Raid (pronounced like Haij). They pronounce the “R” like we pronounce the “H” and they pronounce the “D” like a “J”. I thought it was hilarious, and called it the “Raid” party. It was really fun and I met about 10 new Brazilians. I prepared some appetizers, while the boys prepared some drinks. We played music and danced, and everyone was trying their best to speak English to me. I dabbled at my Portuguese and somehow – we all managed to understand each other. I was so excited to get to know everyone and feel welcomed in Sao Paulo.

IMG_2946 IMG_2932

Leave a Reply

